Short answer: in October 2026, Filipinos can apply to teach English online on 51Talk, Engoo, Native Camp and Preply, whose official pages show no restriction for the Philippines. Cambly’s rules for non-native speakers are unclear, and italki had closed new English applications on 22 October 2026. Only Cambly publishes a per-minute rate; the companies that hire tutors (51Talk, Engoo, Native Camp, Learnlight) set pay by level, rank or contract. Everything below comes from each platform’s own pages, checked 22 October 2026.
The platforms at a glance
| Platform | Accepts tutors in the Philippines? | How pay works (official) | Key requirements | Payout |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 51Talk | Yes: recruitment site for the Philippines, peak hours in PH time | Not published; “per-lesson rates increase” as you move up levels | degree or equivalent experience, 25 Mbps internet, 25-minute lessons | not stated |
| Engoo (DMM Eikaiwa) | Yes: separate Filipino tutor contract | Rate is in your tutor contract; ₱500 bonuses for Filipino tutors | 18+, proficient English, headset, webcam | GCash, twice a month |
| Native Camp | Yes: the Philippines is not on its list of excluded countries | Not published; paid “according to your tutor’s rank” | 18+, intermediate English, 2 Mbps minimum | depends on country, given after hiring |
| Preply | Yes: only a few sanctioned countries are excluded | You set your rate; Preply’s average for English tutors: $15-25 per hour | 18+, computer, camera, microphone | Wise, Payoneer, PayPal, Skrill |
| Cambly | Unclear: describes its tutors as native English speakers and is limiting new tutors | $0.17 per minute (Kids: $0.20 per minute) | no certificate or degree needed | Stripe; PayPal ends 11 November 2026 |
| italki | Closed on 22 October 2026 for English (both profile types); check its teacher page | You set your price; 21% commission on single lessons, 0% on trials | native or C2 English; Professional Teacher needs a 120-hour certificate | PayPal, Hyperwallet, Payoneer |
| Learnlight | Unclear: recruits “around the globe”, no country list | Not published | TEFL/CELTA/TESOL, 2 years’ experience, 10 hours a week of fixed availability | not stated |
| Acadsoc | Recruitment site for the Philippines, but activity in 2026 cannot be confirmed (footer 2020, last blog post 2021) | No per-lesson rate published | Windows PC, headset, HD webcam | PayPal or bank, monthly |
The platforms one by one
51Talk
51Talk recruits home-based and center-based teachers on its Philippine site and lists peak teaching hours in Philippine time: weekdays 6-10 PM and weekends 9 AM-10 PM. Its FAQ asks for a bachelor’s degree, diploma or equivalent experience; a TESOL/TEFL certificate is a plus, and 51Talk offers free training including TESOL. Home setup: Windows 10 or later, an Intel i5 (8th gen) or Ryzen 5, 8 GB RAM, a 720p webcam, a noise-cancelling headset and a stable 25 Mbps connection. Pay is not published; the FAQ says it depends on completed lessons, performance and teacher level. 51Talk says you can start teaching “in as fast as 3 days”.
Engoo (DMM Eikaiwa)
Engoo has a separate contract for Filipino tutors. New Filipino tutors are paid through GCash in their own name, twice a month (the 6th-20th period is paid on the last day of the month, the 21st-5th period on the 15th). Tutors are independent contractors: you need a TIN (BIR Form 1901), tax is withheld, and you receive BIR Form 2307 for your annual return. Engoo pays ₱500 bonuses to Filipino tutors who complete at least 100 lessons in a period. Your per-lesson rate is in the tutor contract. Requirements: 18 or older, proficient English, a laptop or PC, headset, webcam and a fast connection, then an English and connection test, training and a trial lesson. Engoo’s tutor pages are signed by BIBO Global Opportunity, Inc., which appears to be the Philippine company that runs Engoo’s local hiring rather than a separate platform.
Native Camp
Native Camp teaches mainly Japanese learners, who can book unlimited lessons. The Philippines is not on its list of countries it currently does not accept. Requirements: 18 or older, an intermediate English level, a laptop or PC with webcam, a headset with microphone, at least 2 Mbps, and Chrome or Edge; you pass an English test (80% minimum), an AI speaking test and a trial lesson. There are no minimum weekly hours. Pay depends on your tutor rank, which you see after signing the contract.
Preply
On Preply you set your own rate. Preply says English tutors charge $15-25 per hour on average. The commission model is important: Preply keeps 100% of the trial lesson with each new student, then takes 33% of your lessons at the start, falling to 18% as your total hours on the platform grow. No certificate or teaching experience is required; you need to be 18+, register on a computer, and have a camera, microphone and stable internet. Payouts go to Wise, Payoneer, PayPal or Skrill.
Cambly
Cambly is the only platform here that publishes its rate: $0.17 per minute ($10.20 per hour) on Cambly Private+ and $0.20 per minute on Cambly Kids. No certificate, degree or experience is needed, and there are no minimum hours. Two cautions: Cambly describes its tutors as native English speakers and says it is temporarily limiting new tutors. Payouts are processed on Tuesdays (UTC), every 1, 2 or 4 weeks, once your balance is above $20, through Stripe; PayPal payouts end on 11 November 2026.
italki
italki lets you set your own price (from $5 per lesson, as a Community Tutor or a Professional Teacher) and takes 21% of single lessons and nothing on trial lessons. On 22 October 2026 new English applications were closed for both profile types; italki updates the list every Monday, so check its teacher page before applying. italki asks for native or C2 English, and a Professional Teacher needs a recognized certificate such as a 120-hour TEFL/TESOL or CELTA. italki does not accept Udemy or Coursera courses as qualifications.
Learnlight
Learnlight hires teachers for corporate language training. It asks for a TEFL, CELTA or TESOL certificate, at least two years of language teaching, a fixed schedule for at least a year with at least 10 hours a week in its peak slots, and 10 Mbps internet. It does not publish pay or a country list.
Acadsoc
Acadsoc still has a recruitment page for the Philippines (teaching English to students in China) that mentions payment monthly by PayPal or bank account. Its site footer dates from 2020 and its tutor blog stops in 2021, so we could not confirm active hiring in 2026. Check the application page before you prepare for it.
Is a TEFL certificate worth it?
You do not need one for Cambly or Preply. It helps with 51Talk, and Learnlight and italki’s Professional Teacher profile require one. On 22 October 2026, two established online providers listed a 120-hour course at US$489.30 (Teach Away, shown as a 30% discount from US$699) and US$249 (ITTT). Compare the hours, tutor support and refund rules before you buy.
Getting paid in the Philippines
- Engoo pays Filipino tutors to GCash.
- Preply pays to WiseAd, PayoneerAd, PayPal or Skrill.
- italki pays in US dollars to PayPal, Hyperwallet or Payoneer, from $30.
- Cambly pays through Stripe; plan for PayPal ending on 11 November 2026.
See also Payoneer Philippines Guide 2026: Essential for Freelancers and Wise to Maya Transfer 2026.
Before you apply
- Run a speed test: requirements range from 2 Mbps (Native Camp) to 25 Mbps (51Talk).
- Get a headset with a microphone and a webcam; see Best Headset for VA and ESL Work Philippines Under P3,000 (2026) and Best Webcam for Online Teaching Philippines Under P2,000 (2026).
- Apply to two platforms at once; italki and Cambly may not be accepting new English tutors when you apply.
- Read the pay terms in your contract before you accept; most companies show the rate only then.
- Register with the BIR as self-employed; check the BIR website for the 8% income tax option and your filing forms.
Frequently asked questions
Which ESL platform pays the most for Filipino teachers?
There is no official comparison. Only Cambly publishes a rate ($0.17 per minute); 51Talk, Engoo and Native Camp set pay by level, rank or contract, and on Preply and italki you set your own price.
Can I teach on Cambly from the Philippines?
It is unclear. Cambly says you can tutor from almost anywhere, but it describes its tutors as native English speakers and is temporarily limiting new tutors.
Do I need a TEFL certificate?
Not for Cambly or Preply. Learnlight and italki’s Professional Teacher profile require one; for 51Talk it is a plus.
How do Filipino Engoo tutors get paid?
Through GCash in your own name, twice a month, as an independent contractor with tax withheld.
Sources
Checked 22 October 2026.
- 51Talk: 51talk.ph/faqs
- Engoo: engoo.com/app/teach, tutor.engoo.com/support
- Native Camp: nativecamp.net/tutors, nativecamp.net/tutors/app-process
- Preply: preply.com/en/teach, commission model
- Cambly: payments and pay history, prospective tutors FAQ
- italki: open languages, commission
- Learnlight: careers.learnlight.com
- Acadsoc: acadsoc.ph
- TEFL prices: Teach Away 120-hour course, ITTT 120-hour course